House of Refuge

The House of Refuge is a short walk from Beach Houses in Paradise and is Martin county's oldest structure. Built in 1876 by the US Treasury department and decommissioned in April 1945 as a Coast Guard Station, the house has a rich history of providing haven for shipwreck survivors and sailors, and for scanning for German U-boats during World War II. The historic site now features guided tours and a Museum. House of Refuge also serves as a popular location for wedding, corporate, and special events.